Weekend Shopping for Accessories- Hairbands

Given that the sales season is off, and fresh stocks are in at most stores, today I went accessory shopping!  From hairbands to earrings…

I had already checked out a zillion street side vendors selling hairbands..Its best if you want to buy a plain simple hairband from them. I particularly like the plain velvet ones, some in very pretty colours like baby pink. But I wanted something more on my hairband. And when I say something more, I DID NOT want the big flowers and bling bling, which you will find not only at the street vendor shops, but even in some ‘sophisticated’ showrooms.

I started with Accessorize in Ambience Mall, Vasant Kunj, and I simply LOVED a few of their hairbands..but man they were pricey! Now they did not let me take a click so I went to their website, and this is one I particularly liked..simple and very adorable! BUT two things- it was available ONLY in a set of two (why would you need 2 of a kind??) and it cost quite a bit INR 945 for 2 hairbands…

hairband

So I checked a few more shops, but one I particularly enjoyed shopping at was Claire’s in Promenade, VK. Now they do have some quirky OTT stuff, and I did not expect much when I entered the shop. The typical, oversized flowers ( i mean whoever wears that! do they even sell??)

The typical stuff you get everywhere..oversized flowers..

The typical stuff you get everywhere..over-sized flowers/ too much bling..

And then I found JUST what I was looking for..ever since I had seen Kareena wear it in Ek Main aur Ek Tu! (yes, that was probably the only thing worthwhile in that movie 😉

Picture2

Yes, that’s the hairband that even I own now! 🙂

A screen shot from Claire's website

The band I bought-A screen shot from Claire’s website

I think it is super chick, and not OTT. And for INR 300 I think it was not a bad buy. Coming back to Claire’s, another thing I just could not resist trying (though I know I will never buy it, lest I go for a polo match) was this quirky hat style hairband.quirkyhat

Now ain’t that hairband cute?!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

